Raw Apple Cinnamon Crackers

Granny smith apple

Granny Smith Apple

Lately I have felt like I have been consuming too many nuts in my diet, and have been craving a cracker, that is both nut and flax free.  So today, I am experimenting with a chia version, and since I have a ton of apples sitting on my counter, I was inspired to make this wonderful treat 🙂

  • 3 apples
  • 1 cup of filtered water
  • 1 cup of chia seed
  • 1 tbsp of agave syrup
  • 1/2 lemon – juiced
  • 1/2 tbsp of cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/2 tsp of nutmeg
  • 1/16 tsp of cayenne powder
  1. Grate three organic apples by hand or by using a food processor.  I used what I had on hand, which were two Macintosh and one Granny Smith apple .  Use whatever type of apple you like for this recipe.
  2. Add in remaining ingredients in a bowl and mix well. 
  3. Spread onto two dehydrator trays and dehydrate for four hours.  Then flip, and dehydrate for another four hours, or until nice a crisp.

I personally love to put avocado on absolutely everything, so my first choice for topping for this cracker is avocado, but feel free to spread a nice cashew butter, berry spread, or anything else of your choosing on these crackers. 

Chia seed is one of the richest sources of Omega-3 and dietary fibre. Omega-3 fatty acids can normalize blood pressure and bad cholesterol and assist with a healthy heart and blood vessels.   It also contains high-quality protein, so if you think that you need eat meat to get your protein, then think again! Chia also helps strengthen muscle and bones, and is a super source of calcium, it contains more calcium than milk!

Chia can absorb about 12 times its weight in water.  You will notice that if you mix these lovely little seeds in water or any other liquids, it starts soaking up the liquid and starts to form a kind of gelatinous gel around the seed It’s really quite cool, check it out sometime.  Chia’s high fibre content  will make you feel full faster and longer, which is great if you are trying to lose weight or are on the go.  I throw some in my smoothie in the mornings, which will usually fill me up and take me through until lunch time!

Note: My camera has had better days, so unfortunately I haven’t been able to take pictures lately, but I promise that in the new year, you will be viewing some fine pictures of my dishes 😀

Leave a Reply

